Is the game worth coming back to Live or Classic

sas200

Hello L2 community.  Let me start by saying I started playing L2 interlude back in 2004.  I quit playing after discovering the horrible grind.  Then I came back and played the 2nd Chronicle when they introduced Alligator Isle. I got up to level 55 and just couldn't keep up with the grind and inflated prices of everything.

Then I played on illegal servers for a while, but got bored of them as I quickly realized they were unstable and pay-to-win.

L2 went free a couple years ago I guess, and I started again in 2016, but once I awakened I just quit, because it was back to grind-fest.

After reading the forums it seems that in order to truly compete people are paying real world money in the thousands?  Is this true?

I don't want to play if it's pay-to-win, I don't mind buying NCcoin here and there for XP/SP/Drop bonus.  I just got my Yul awakened and at level 85 again, but I'm wondering if I'm wasting my time or if I should play. 

So I'm looking for some straight up honesty guys.  If I want to avoid pay-to-win, should I play classic or live, (or does it matter).  I do not like the grind but will stick it out if I can compete.  If I have to drop thousands of dollars to compete, then it's a deal breaker.

I would appreciate some thoughtful advice and information from the players.  Thank you in advance.

I gotta be honest with you: You can't avoid pay to win playing Live or Classic here.

On live, we are talking about tens of thousands of dollars to start having some fun ( assuming you can level up to level 105~ which is the new "normal level" of the server).
On Classic we are talking about couple hundreds every month( 1 month worth of EXP runes cost 11k ncoins = almost 150 dollars).