Can someone explain to me about Warlocks and what they do in parties? And about their cubics?

MeltedWater

I chose to put it here instead of in the class discussion section because I'm hoping more people will see it, also I think it's more of a basic noob question.

I'm new to the game, it's just so hard to find out any information and seems like nobody willing to help. Hopefully somebody here will be able to answer...

Levelling to 40 is a long process and I don't want to pick a class I won't like when I get there. I heard Warlocks are good for healing because of infinite mana, but what about their cubics? I know nothing about them. One is melee and one is ranged, right? Which is which? What else do they do? How does controlling them work? I know you can't control them as much as a cat (which I which I could "control" more......) but can I control anything? Can I have them tank? How? Do they make good tanks? Just so many questions I have....

What role does a Warlock play in a party? What I'd like to do, is send out my cubics (maybe Kat too?) to help tank/DPS while staying back and healing. Is that what I should be doing, or am I way off base here?
Thanks for any help! I'm trying to decide if I even want to become a Warlock at 40 or not. Tell me what makes them shine! lol

Feline queen buff is on classic at 76lvl. 

As warlock you basically have a high DPS summon, and you hit mobs. For pvp, you also got a nuke which is quite powerfull. Cubics, warlock have the worst cubics from all summoners, one that roots, another that damages.

I'm mostly concerned with PvE and not so much PvP at least not for now.

I thought Warlocks had the best cubics? What is the point of them if not their cubics?

Can cubics tank? And if so, which one, and how do I do it? That's what I'd mainly like to know.

I was about to say "dude, what kind of l2java crap you've been playing before coming to the retail?" than i saw the first post. 

22 hours ago, MeltedWater said: